Stars Among Us

Nominations for the 2021 Stars Among Us Awards are closed.


View the 2021 Awards Brochure Here

Questions? Email 


We celebrated our 2020 Stars Among Us Awards at the Institute & Expo.

Meet the 2020 Award Recipients


Trillium Woods, Plymouth
Falls Initiative in Independent Living

Star Workplace
Carris Health Care Center & Therapy Suites, Willmar
Defying Tradition: Redefining the CNA as the Clinically Needed Advocate

Community Collaboration
Charter House, Rochester
Annual Sidewalk Sale – 30 Years and $300,000 for Community Benefit

Friendship Village of Bloomington
(Stay) Dry Martini Party: Innovative Incontinence Education


Caregiver of the Year
Amanda Gruber, Household Coordinator, Three Links, Northfield

Board Trustee of the Year
Dr. Sharon Aadalen, Jones-Harrison Residence, Minneapolis

Kal Michels Outstanding Leadership
Jennifer Pfeffer, Senior Regional Director, Ecumen, Shoreview

Volunteer of the Year
Craig Stewart, Ecumen Meadows, Worthington

Spirit of Aging
Harold Hansen, Saint Therese of Woodbury


District Caregiver of The Year Recipients

  • District A: Mary Stortroen, Certified Nursing Assistant, Riverview Care Center, Crookston
  • District B: Deborah Bettcher, Nursing Assistant, Aitkin Health Services, Aitkin
  • District C: Marie VanZee, Care Attendant, Nursing Assistant Registered, Parkview Court Assisted Living, Glenwood
  • District D: Terry Hampton, Home Health Aide, Shepherd of Grace, Becker
  • District E: Cindee Krzmarzick, Life Enrichment Coordinator, Oak Hills Living Center, New Ulm
  • District F: Emily Drees, LPN, Mayo Clinic Health System - Lake City Care Center
  • District G: Christopher Adhanja, LPN/Memory Care Nurse, The Glenn Minnetonka

District Volunteer of The Year Recipients

  • District B: Benedictine Living Community of Duluth Auxiliary, Duluth
  • District C: Lois Stinogel, Auxiliary Board President, PioneerCare, Fergus Falls
  • District D: Tom Jones, Assumption Community Faith in Action, Cold Spring
  • District E: Ellie Aalderks, Renvilla Care Center, Renville
  • District F: Sherry Heydt, Field Crest Care Center, Hayfield
  • District G: Liam Sheeley, The Glenn Hopkins DayBridge Adult Day Center

District Spirit of Aging Award Recipients

  • District C: Emmy Rosen, Perham Living, Perham
  • District D: Marlyn Beaudine, Assumption Community Faith in Action, Cold Spring
  • District F: Gladys Bolton, Northfield Manor, Northfield
  • District G: Geraldine “Gerry” Sanson, Augustana Regent at Burnsville

See photos of our District Award Winners


Need Help?

We're here to help you! Contact:

  • Barbara Landeen
  • Director of Member and Governance Resources
  • 651.603.3522 or 800.462.5368