Legislative Caucuses Elect Leadership

For two more years, Minnesota will continue to have the distinction of having the only divided Legislature in America, with the Republicans holding on to control of the Minnesota Senate by a one-vote margin and the House DFL retaining control of the House, albeit with a smaller majority than last year. 

The four caucuses met last week to select leadership, and there will be no significant changes in any of the four caucuses as they elected to keep their current leaders in place. This means that the legislative leaders will be as follows: Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka, Senate Minority Leader Susan Kent, House Speaker Melissa Hortman, House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler, and House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt. Decisions on Committee Chairs and membership are not likely for a few weeks, but don’t expect significant changes in committee structures or committee chairs. LeadingAge MN looks forward to continued work with legislative leaders on our issues. 

Back to news home »

Next Grow Your Workforce Through Apprenticeship

Previous Required Participation in the DHS Labor Market Survey


No one has commented on this article yet. Please post a comment below.

Add a comment

Members must sign in to comment

You must be a member to comment on this article. If you are already a member, please log in. Not a member? Learn how to join »

Log In